Seoul, Korea: Lesson #7- Sometimes you need to give a place a second chance

Korea is back in my fun books. You can’t really blame me, when the last time I visited was with a chinese tour catered towards middle-aged folks. Palaces and pure chinese food and long drives just don’t cut it for a 13 year old. ZZzzZzzzz.

Fast forward a decade (ugh). Being here on my own, going to places catered towards my own interests, eating actual korean food– I absolutely love it here. To the extent that I would consider moving here for a little while. I love the young crowds, the hipster areas, the amazing food both on and off the streets, and all the pretty cherry blossoms. Seeing them in real life has been another dream come true.

Bukchon hanok village, Namsan tower, Gwangjang market, Yeouido cherry blossoms, and cafés in Samchungdong and Insadong... I've been everywhere!

Bukchon hanok village, Namsan tower, Gwangjang market, Yeouido cherry blossoms, and cafés in Samchungdong and Insadong… I’ve been everywhere!


I reunited with my friend Hyuna, who had moved here for a year, and our meeting in the train station was epic. Jumping up and down on some stairs while people passed by probably wasn’t the best idea, but you couldn’t have hid our excitement if you tried. We had both matured so much since our last meeting, yet we were both exactly the same people. It has been a godsend to have a friend here in Korea. I have someone to eat dinner with and someone to watch out for me while I am here.

At the hostel I am staying at, I met a guy named Matt. He is the temp. manager there and while we were making small talk, we found out we were both nurses. He was so surprised his jaw dropped, along with the broom he was sweeping with. I mean, how can you not instantly like a guy like that? Sure I’ve met alot of people, and gotten along with almost all of them, but meeting someone whose personality vibes so well with your own is rare, in my opinion. Having him and Hyuna around has made me comfortable enough to not have to try to make new friends here in Korea.

Happy memories with old-time friend Hyuna and new-found friend Matt ^^

Happy memories with old-time friend Hyuna and new-found friend Matt ^^


As usual, I’ll just give a brief review of the place I stayed, this time at Yellow Brick Hostel 2. It was right by the palaces and Insadong. A safe and convenient area to be, right by the train station. Free breakfast, always a bonus. Comfortable dorms, although I was been lucky enough to have had the entire dorm to myself the whole time I was here. Scoree!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset


And holy hell, the food. Everything is soo nommy. I didn’t have to worry about the sanitation of the street food vendors as much as I did in Cambodia, so I freely indulged. Kalguksu, samgyeopsal,  jjajamyeon, oh my! Food is my soft spot and this country sure poked at my soft spot alot.

Foodie heaven...

Foodie heaven…

I sure look happy, don’t I?

Leave a Reply

