Midnight Musings: where I’m going and why…. on earth do you care?

I started writing this post at midnight, the time when my brain seems to kick into full gear. It’s a curse, I swear.

Oh right, this is the part where I am supposed to introduce my new adventure: Southeast Asia, baby! I am still currently working out the deets, but my next trip is going to be primarily centered around volunteering in Cambodia (another post will follow on responsible volunteering ^^). I will also travel around a bit of Asia, but specifics have not yet been decided.

Here is a bowlful of feels. I gotta give this blogpost some mood, ya know?

Many of my elders have asked me why I am going, to which I never give the best response to, because if you know me, you will know that words form better in my head than on my lips. Well my elders, this is the truth. When you first hear it, you may either think that I’m a) absolutely crazy or b) doing a selfless act, serving others who are less privileged. While this is part of the reason I am choosing to volunteer, the bigger reason for me going to Cambodia is an entirely selfish one. 

I thirst for perspective.

What I understand— the knowledge I gain through media/ news/ books, they all come down to one thing: they are only words. I crave putting myself in a position that allows me to submerge into a culture and understand it from their shoes. I lust for this viewpoint. I am at a point in my life where I feel so strongly about this, it is almost substantial to my existence. This is something I NEED to do.

I believe that the purpose of my life is to help others using my compassion and other skills that I possess. I know who I am and what my values are. But in order to carry out my purpose, I feel like I first need to see the world. Appreciate the differences. Embrace the unknown. Take chances, make mistakes, and get messy! (yes that was a Magic School Bus reference. If you got that, you have instantly just gained a friend)

Seatbelts, everyone!

One thought on “Midnight Musings: where I’m going and why…. on earth do you care?

Leave a Reply

